Gas Chromatography Blog

Successfully perform high temperature GC applications

Would you like to fully understand what high temperature gas chromatography means and discover strategies for more efficient and successful high temperature applications? If so, this webinar will provide the answers.

Click for FREE  registration >>

When is it happening?

This webinar will broadcast at three separate times so please select the broadcast that is most convenient for you.

Broadcast #1:
Date: 23 October, 2019
Start Time: 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST

Broadcast #2:
Date: 23 October, 2019
Start Time: 11:00 PDT / 14:00 EDT

Broadcast #3:
Date: 24 October, 2019
Start Time: 08:30 IST / 11:00 Singapore / 14:00 AEDT

In this webinar the presenter will discuss what effect temperatures above 360 °C will have on the integrity of the column phase and brittleness of the column over extended periods of time. You will discover strategies for more efficient and successful high temperature applications, such as utilizing metal columns, and how long they are able to operate at temperatures up to 450 °C and still maintain their integrity. Also to be discussed will be how selection of the right consumables and maintaining a leak free system is especially important in high temperature GC applications, and how to pick the right ones to have a successful and robust GC analysis.

This presentation will cover:

  • high temperature GC columns
  • maximum temperature limits
  • how to protect your column from oxygen
  • how to reach higher temperatures without sacrificing selectivity
  • when to switch to metal columns
  • which consumables are needed for high temperature applications.

By attending this presentation you will learn:

  • what the maximum operating temperature means
  • what can happen to the phase and fused silica when it is exceeded
  • how to successfully perform high temperature applications
  • how to elute up to C114

Why should you attend?

To gain better understanding of what high temperature gas chromatography means, when to use high temperature fused silica and when to switch to deactivated stainless steel GC columns, and
how gas quality and thermal stability can affect your chromatography at high temperatures.

PLUS - Participation Bonus: Register and attend the webinar to receive a special offer from Agilent.

The Presenter

Vanessa Abercrombie
(Gas Chromatography Applications Chemist, Agilent) 
Vanessa Abercrombie is GC Applications Chemist at Agilent in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, California as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Masters of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

Click for FREE  registration >>

Subscribe to FREE learning from the experts!