Gas Chromatography Blog

Return your GC and GC/MS system to its optimum performance

Knowing when and how to do maintenance on a system and what is required to bring a system back to optimal performance can be tricky skills to master. This webinar will open the door to the secrets of mastering the signs of a dirty liner, “dead” or dirty column, and dirty MS source from everyday chromatograms, data and tune reports.

Click for free registration >>

When is it happening?

Dates: 29 & 30 July, 2020

Start Times: 
Broadcast #1: 29 July - 10 am EDT (New York) / 3 pm BST (London) / 4 pm CEST (Paris)

Broadcast #2: 29 July - 11 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 1 pm CDT (Chicago) / 2 pm EDT (New York)

Broadcast #3: 30 July - 7:30 am IST  (New Delhi) / 10 am SGT (Singapore) / 12 pm AEDT (Melbourne)

What will it cover?

The presenters will discuss how to get the best peaks (and performance) by matching your analysis with the right parameters and consumables, including gain factor, extraction lenses, and whether a glass wool liner is right for your analysis.

By attending this webinar you will learn:

  • When to replace gas filters, columns and pump oil
  • When to do maintenance on the MSD, such as cleaning the MS source (and best ways how), replace filaments and cleaning the EM horn
  • How to use the best MS parts for your application (e.g., using the correct draw-out plate or extraction lens for SVOCs, pesticides, etc.)
  • The right gain factor and A/D samples for your analysis
  • How to match consumables to your analysis, such as columns and liners.

Forward to a colleague >>

The Presenters

Angie Smith-Henry is an applications chemist for GC and MS Supplies at Agilent Technologies in Wilmington, Delaware, USA. Previously, she was an Applications Chemist for the MSD Solutions and Applications group with a focus on developing analyzers and applications for energy, chemical and environmental markets. Angie holds a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Lehigh University and B.S. in Chemistry from Juniata College.

Vanessa Abercrombie is a GC Applications Chemist at Agilent in Folsom, California, USA. Vanessa has a broad background in GC and GC/MS, including experience as an instrument chemist at Bode Technology in Virginia working under contract to the FBI’s Laboratory Division. Prior to that, Vanessa worked for ETS Labs in St. Helena, California as an Analytical Chemist where she researched and developed quantitative separations by GC/MS and UHPLC for beer, wine and spirits. She holds a Masters of Forensic Science from The George Washington University and a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Sonoma State University.

Register and return your GC or GC/MS back to its peak performance >>

 

Subscribe to FREE learning from the experts!